Coach Taylor Headshot

About Coach Taylor

Coach Joe Taylor is a legend in college football. He has won 4 National Championships, 14 Conference Championships, 7 Bowl Games, and has a lifetime win-loss record of 233-96-4. He is respected with the likes of Eddie Robinson and Jake Gaither.

As a Head Football Coach he has transformed the lives of thousands of young men over his forty years of coaching. He was the head football coach at Florida A&M University from 2008-2012, and prior to FAMU, he was the head football coach at Hampton University from 1992 to 2007. He was also the head coach at Virginia Union University from 1984 to 1991 where he won one conference title on his way to an overall record of 60–19–3 (.750).

Under Coach Taylor’s direction, a number of outstanding former players went on to the National Football League and Canadian Football League:

  • Kendall Langford
  • Marcus Dixon
  • Justin Durant
  • Corey Swinson
  • Alonzo Coleman
  • Nevin McCaskill
  • Onrea Jones
  • Cordell Taylor
  • Leroy Vann
  • Curtis Holcomb
  • Kevin Elliott
  • Brian Tyms
  • Coach Taylor has been elected to Three Hall of Fames: Western Illinois University, Virginia Union University, and The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association Conference. Coach Taylor has served on numerous committees for American Football Coaches Association, was on the Board of Trustees, and became the president in 2001.